Tags

, , ,

 

Photo May 25, 5 15 22 PMProject: The Wizard of Oz
Designer: Laura Rimola
Company: The Little Stitcher
Date: 2013
Fabric: 40ct. Morning Dew by Zweigart
Floss used: Gentle Arts Sampler/Shaker Threads and Kreinik
Approximate time: 7 days

 

 

 

 

This was my first start of Stitch Maynia.

This one was originally charted with DMC, but I’ve recently discovered that I really love Gentle Arts, so I decided to convert everything to that.  I also decided to try out 40 count for the first time.  I loved it.

I will be turning this into a pillow and entering it into a contest at the International Wizard of Oz Convention in July/August.

Photo May 25, 5 15 37 PMPhoto May 25, 5 15 42 PM

Over all, my changes (color swaps aside) were very minimal.  I used a blending filament on the Ruby Slippers and the “T” and “H.” I also changed all ribbons to lazy daisies.  The big “additions” were to give Toto a tongue, and to put a drop of oil on the Tin Man’s oil can, as well as some backstitching to him.

For those curious about the color changes, this is what I did:

  • “The Wizard of Oz” – Rio Carnivale, limited edition
  • Filigre – Grape Leaf
  • Flower Petals – Antique Rose
  • Flower Stems – Bayberry
  • Dorothy – Brown Bear (Hair), Picket Fence (Blouse), Morning Glory (Dress, Socks and Trims), Apricot Blush (Skin), Harvest Basket (Basket), Ruby Slipper (well duh), Kreinik 061 BF (Ruby Slippers)
  • Toto – Soot [Wool], Antique Rose (tongue)
  • Yellow Brick Road – Ale, limited edition
  • “There’s No Place Like Home” – Ruby Slipper and Kreinik 061 BF
  • Scarecrow – Soot [Wool] (hat), Harvest Basket (nose, ropes), Apricot Blush (head), Chives (tunic), Buttercrunch (straw), Cinnamon [Wool] (pants), Rio Carnivale, limited edition (patches), Dark Chocolate (boots)
  • Tin Man – Soot (Hat, nose, joints, boots, backstitch), Pebble (head, arms and legs), Barn Grey (oil can and neck), Aged Pewter (torso)
  • Cowardly Lion – Cinnamon [Wool] (main, tail and belly), Toffee (body), Ruby Slipper (bow), Dark Chocolate (facial features)

 

