Tags

, , , , ,

The Mysterious Halloween Town

The Mysterious Halloween Town

Project: The Mysterious Halloween Town Club
Designer: Ashleigh and Amber
Company: The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery
Date: 2014
Fabric: 14 Ct. Zwigeart Aida, Khaki
Floss used: DMC, Weeks Dye Works, The Gentle Arts and Kreinik
Approximate time: 4 Months (July-October 2014)

This was my first mystery sampler ever.  It was also the project that led me to my LNS for the first time. It was also my first Halloween project.  And my first Frosted Pumpkin project.

To be 100% honest, I am really not too sure how I stumbled upon it.  By this time, I had joined a Facebook group, and I feel like someone mentioned the “Once Upon a Time” sampler, which is how I got there.  But at this point, I don’t remember exactly.

This was my first time buying Aida that wasn’t in a tube, which was exciting in and of itself.  But more exciting was walking into our very busy LNS and seeing everything there was.  Which was ridiculously overwhelming and my introverted little self nearly totally shut down and didn’t do anything.  But I powered through.

The chart itself required 1 Skein of WDW and 4 of The Gentle Arts (Three colors, one needed two skeins).  I ended up not actually using the second skein because I’m much more judicious with my floss than some people.  Or because I opted not to do Part 4 (more to come).

I didn’t make a huge amount of alterations. I had seen on the FPS’ Facebook page that someone was using Glow in the Dark floss on the clouds and moon, and I thought that was a great idea, so I copied that.  I actually ended up using 2 different Glow in the Darks.  I used Grapefruit to go over the white parts and Lemon Lime for the Jack-o-Lantern by the house.

My only other major change was to remove the “glass” from the Bakery windows, since I thought it seemed weird that everywhere else, glass was represented with the lime green DMC, but here was the same blue the house was.  And then when I did try to fill in with the lime green it just looked weird to me.

Perhaps my biggest choice was to not stitch Part 4.  Part 4, for those who haven’t seen, is a sort of finishing title section.  It says “Halloween Town” and has candy and skulls and bats and things.  Part of me didn’t like it because I thought it was perfectly fine without it to begin with.  Part of me didn’t like it because it was primarily pink and black and it just didn’t seem to fit with the rest of the chart.

That said, I have to say that I generally love most of what The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery comes up with.  I think they made a few mis-steps with this chart, but Parts 1-3 are really cute and more friendly-scary than scary-scary, which is honestly,  how i prefer my Halloween.

Since this pattern, I have also started the Once Upon a Time sampler (more on it eventually) and have plans to start Christmas on Gingerbread Lane.  I own a ton of the patterns, so we’ll see what happens.

If you would like to purchase this pattern, please follow the link below!

http://thefrostedpumpkinstitchery.bigcartel.com/product/the-mysterious-halloween-town-club-pdf-cross-stitch-pattern-subscription

